Hello!

“…we’re not crazy–we’re regular people who happen to have very unusual lives.” -Sara Mearns

So I’ve started a blog (hello!). I figure since I spend so much time ranting talking to my friends about dance (well, mostly ballet) and other things that I geek out about, I might as well put it all in a blog so they can peruse it at their leisure (and so that it will make slightly more sense). Also, props to Kaitlyn Yiu for the idea for the URL.

A bit about me so you have slightly more faith that I know what I’m talking about. My name is Courtney, and at the moment I’m a sophomore at New York University and a first year BFA student in the dance department at NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts. Last year I was at NYU in London, and before that (and during breaks) I live(d) in Lafayette, Louisiana. Generally speaking, I was a typically abnormal human being/dancer the eighteen years I lived there (I went to public high school and everything!), save for the constant dance training, being a student performer with Lafayette Ballet Theatre for two years, and spending my summer at various ballet intensives around the country. And have I mentioned that I’m a total nerd?

A bit of background on the above quote. Sara Mearns is a principal dancer with New York City Ballet. She was speaking in the context of an interview about/for city.ballet, a web series recently produced and hosted by Sarah Jessica Parker that took a look at the daily lives of NYCB dancers. Side note, check it out if you haven’t already, it’s linked above. I think it summarizes being a dancer rather perfectly, and therefore decided it was a good way to begin my first post.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

