Keep Moving//Film Adaptation News!

Happy Monday!

Today was our first day back at Tisch Dance after a weeklong holiday for Spring Break. Right now, I’m sitting in my dorm, ice on my feet (recovering from a minor ankle sprain, no worries), already feeling the tightness in my calves from ballet this morning, a burgeoning bruise from attacking the floor in modern, and an ache in one inner thigh from working in dance composition this afternoon. Hell, my feet are even cramping a bit and I knew a good twelve hours ago that I was going to be sore by tomorrow morning.

And all I can think is how happy I am to be moving again after a week away.

The first part of this semester was rough (see: sprained ankle, among other things), and it wasn’t until the last week or two before break that I was able to reconnect with my positivity and my absolute need to be in the studio. But on the toughest days, what got me through was, very simply, dragging myself get into the studio and making myself move.

And that’s just it, really. Do not stop moving. As long as you’re moving, time will move with you and somehow you’ll make it through to the other side.

I’m not talking just about dance here. Einstein told us, “The important thing is to not stop questioning.” Physically, intellectually, emotionally. Keep questioning, keep thinking forward, keep learning, because otherwise, what’s the point? Whether it’s a good day or the worst, just keep putting one foot in front of the other, because being stagnant only means that time will leave you behind.

Not that there is anything wrong with a considered stillness. Just so long as stillness is the move.

Sometimes all you can do is keep moving–that way, on the truly brilliant days, you can fly.

So that’s my random philosophy for the day.

Image

Just a bit of Monday inspiration: The Royal Ballet’s Steven McRae and Sarah Lamb in David Dawson’s The Human Seasons. Photo by Dave Morgan

 

On another, nerdier note, it’s just been announced that John Green’s novel, Paper Towns, is being made into a film with John himself acting as an executive producer, and I am freaking out with the best of them. I started reading John Green’s novels in high school when a friend loaned me a copy of Looking for Alaska (which I am now hopeful will get its own film adaptation at some point in the future). It’s really awesome getting to see such a fantastic author’s work gaining more traction in the public consciousness, first with the upcoming film adaptation of The Fault in Our Stars and now with Paper Towns.

 

Leave a Reply

